Why I Fail as a Girl (on trivia nights) – And How I Succeed

girlstuffmemesimpsons

There has been a long-running rumor with our trivia team that for trivia purposes? We don’t have any “women” on our team. That was brought to a head recently when a player from More Beer Less Pants made this query to me: “Who is going to be your person for “chick” questions?” We recently had a shakeup in our trivia team lineup for the upcoming Sporcle Live Pub Champions League Championship where one of the women players became unavailable to play. So this is the question I had to answer! Being a woman, I felt kind of emasculated…is there a word for this when you feel like your womanhood has been stripped from you? Defemulated? I know it’s been a long running joke that I’m not the “go-to” person when trivia questions get asked about “girl” topics, including but not limited to: “Dancing with the Stars,” “American Idol,” “Desperate Housewives,” boy bands (my contention is that I’ve always been allergic to boy bands, even Menudo), chick flicks, Nicholas Sparks, Ru Paul’s Drag Race, and anything pertaining to Kardashians (I claim allergies in that area, too). In fact, for a couple of years, a male millennial named Alex was our team’s self-described “girl,” and now that role is occasionally filled by David. Well, I’m here to tell ya – there are still some other random “girl” topics that when the questions come up about them? I will feel as girly as Sandra Bullock in “Miss Congeniality.” When she’s all dolled up for the pageant, not the “before” scenario. As for whether I identify with her character in that film? No comment…anyway, here goes, some of those “other” topics that could be described as “girly that I just might know a thing or two about:
1. Judy Blume books – I read them voraciously as a kid. Still kicking myself for not remembering Margaret’s last name in “Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret” for that extra bonus point. But my guess of “Singer” was so, so close…
2. “Little House on the Prairie.” I read the books and watched the wildly inaccurate show with gusto. And recently read a great annotated biography of the author Laura Ingalls Wilder.
3. Beverly Cleary books (she just celebrated her 100th birthday in April).
4. Musicals – Movie/Broadway. Not an expert in this category, but am more than passable! I do know that Audrey Hepburn was NOT in the film version of “The King and I!” It was very rewarding being able to prove a certain “someone” wrong in this discussion. I took a Broadway musicals class in college, too! Actually had to sit through “Showboat.” Don’t get me started on “Jesus Christ Superstar” or “Evita,” I could do a whole separate post on each of those topics! Not that I know almost all the lyrics to those songs or anything…
5. Soap Operas – I have some passable knowledge in this category, especially pertaining to “Dynasty,” and “General Hospital,” “One Life to Live,” and “Days of Our Lives,” mainly early ’80s stuff. I was forced to watch “Melrose Place” and “Beverly Hills 90210” briefly when I lived with female roommates, so there is a chance some of that might have made it into long-term memory. Hopefully not, I’d rather remember the names of presidents, best picture winning films, world capitals and African nations, thank you…
6. Fashion/Clothing – I once helped get a “stadiums” question right because I knew that Dockers are connected to San Francisco. And I know some designer names.
7. “The Thorn Birds.” I watched this miniseries as a kid AND read the book. This is definitely a made-for-TV “chick flick.” I’m a sucker for accents, what can I say?
8. Zodiac signs. Couldn’t be more of a “chick” category….what’s your sign, baby? 🙂
9. Birthstones – Yep, another “girl” category right here.
10. Cabbage Patch Kids/Barbie – Yes, I played with these as a kid. Now is there any more definitive proof that I’m a “real” girl?

Leave a Reply

