Trivia Recap – Nov. 30, 2016 – Johnny’s Grill

'Doing the "solo" trivia thing can be an interesting experience. The quiet of not having your teammates can be nice, for a change of pace.   But occasionally, you may start to miss having your "regulars," who not only help you out on the questions - but also help bring the funny. The "funny" can come in many forms - cracking jokes, making lewd comments, making commentary on questions that are asked, snickering at funny words mentioned during the game. Even though I went out playing solo Tuesday at @[265519880218776:274:Johnny's on the Lake] with @[1328674860490956:274:Sporcle Live Host Elyse] (not even sure I tagged the right place...), for a moment - I felt like I had one of my teammates there! Do not read past this point if you are offended by vulgar language, even if cleverly veiled...(elevator music plays). You're still reading? Good! After the game, I was talking to a couple of players on @[401709313234240:274:More Beer Less Pants], telling them: "I blew an eight and a six in game two." To which one of them responded, "Those are good ones to blow." Bam...I almost felt like Brad had said that instead of this guy (who will remain anonymous). If I had a time machine I would have responded, "So what makes you an expert on good ones to blow?" But alas, it would be a waste of a time machine, I know, I know.  Still a funny moment, and I appreciated the levity! I did fairly well in game one, tying with MBLP heading into the final, which couldn't have been MORE out of my "wheelhouse." Game two really "sucked" (go ahead and snicker), missed some big pointers, though managed to finish third by getting the second final correct. And the questions...
Game One
1. U.S. History - What was the name of the research and development program led by the U.S. that produced the first atomic bombs during World War 2? 10
2. Desserts - The name of what coffee-flavored Italian dessert translates into "pick me up?" 4
3. Rocky - How many films in the Rocky film series have Roman numerals in their titles? 3
4. Cocktails - What is the primary alcohol in a hurricane? 9
5. Video Games - Released in Nov. 2016, 'Infinite Warfare" is the most recent installment in what first-person shooter video game series? Miss for 1.
6. Diseases - Mad Hatter disease got its name because of exposure of hat makers to what chemical element? 8
7. Opening Lyrics - What four words are the first lyrics in Three Dog Night's "Joy to the World?" 7
8. MLB Siblings- What was the last name of brothers Phil and Joe who each pitched in more than 20 seasons in the MLB from the '60s to the '80s? Nope, miss for 2.
9. Tyler Perry - What 2004 play inspired a TV series that ran from 2009-2011 and a 2008 movie featuring Tyler Perry? 5
10. Canada - Which Canadian province borders four of the five Great Lakes? For an extra "nerd" point, which U.S. state is the easternmost to touch a Great Lake? Got both for 6 plus the bonus.
Mystery - Anagrams - Identify the 2016 high-grossing film based on the following anagrams (spoiler - this one was a killer - clearly I need to review recent high grossing films!)
1. Did No Frying
2. Pale Dodo
3. These Coffee Triplets
4 Strong Red Coat
Normally Mike is very good at these "anagram" rounds, and certainly would have helped here. I thunk...and thunk...and thunk...and thunk...came up with #3 at the last second, and thankfully I just saw #4 kind of recently, so that one "came" easily. When I found out what #1 and #2 were? Facepalm...the horror!
Scores: Four teams, scores 51 to 60, with me (playing as "I've Got a Bad Feeling About This") tied with MBLP in the top spot. Never you fear, the final question will take the wind out of my sails!
Final Category: Different Groups, Same Nickname
What nickname was shared by a group of conservative Supreme Court Justices in the 1930s, a group of football players in the 1920s, and a group of pro wrestlers in the 1980s and 90s?
None of these categories spoke to me, having a teammate or two would have probably helped here...wagered 20 and missed.
Nobody used their "real" names, but MBLP finished first, and I "think" Slick Rock finished second. 
Game Two
1. State Mottoes - (and enter a weird coincidence - shortly before heading out to this game, I posted a list of "just for fun" state mottoes my husband and I made up on a recent road trip - and lo and behold, we get a mottoes question in a game later. Weird...) - Other than English, what is the most common language for official state mottoes? 5
2. TV Openings - What type of fruit was seen at the beginning of the opening credits for "Desperate Housewives?" And for an extra "nerd" bonus, within one, how many seasons did this series air? Amazingly, I got both parts of these correct, and I've never seen a single episode of this show! Got this for 2, plus the bonus.
3. Software - What music software was released by Apple in January, 2001? 10
4. NASSA - (Host Elyse said she thinks that word should have a double S, so there you have it - what does the extra "s" stand for? I vote for squid. National Aeronautic Space Squid Administration. And so shall it be...ahem) - Which U.S. president established NASSA? Miss for 4.
5. Comedians - Audio clue of raspy voiced acerbic comic, got it.
6. Telling Time - What company makes the "Iron Man" brand digital wristwatch? 1
7. Bones - Of the hammer, anvil, and stirrup, which one is also called "malleus?" Considered right answer, but picked the wrong one for 6. Heh, I "blew" a question about bones. I can just hear Brad snickering, "You said bone." 
8. Early Roles - One of actor Steve McQueen's earliest movie roles was a 1958 film about an alien amoeba? Had to think a bit on this one, but got it.
9. Military - After the Medal of Honor and cross, what is the third highest military decoration of valor? Mike would have helped here, miss for EIGHT. And here is the second question I "blew" for BIG, lol. 
10. Jazz - Count Basie was best known for playing what instrument: 9
Mystery - http://www.sporcle.com/blog/visual/pasta1129/ Missed 2 and 4. Ouch, these mystery rounds were HARD, they pounded me GOOD! Well played, @[469076589861494:274:Sporcle Live]...well played! 
Scores: Yeah, I was in last place, MBLP in first with 64 (pffft...show offs!).. Yada yada, big surprise! Cough...
Final Category - Animated Voices
Two performers who have lent their voice talents to all three Kung Fu Panda movies have won a competitive Academy Award in an acting category.
Name either of those performers.
I must've not heard the word "either," as I named both of them (thanks Elyse for giving me points even though some hosts would disqualify me for putting more than one). 
Standings: I've Got a Bad Feeling About This, 62, second place (???), 70, and 74, MBLP (what's with that strategic wager? hmmm?) Until next time, which will be @[282357178481266:274:The Wurst Bar] for a @[302131201124:274:My Trivia Live] fix with "the team." As always, Go Pods, and stay classy, The Blob!'
Doing the “solo” trivia thing can be an interesting experience. The quiet of not having your teammates can be nice, for a change of pace. But occasionally, you may start to miss having your “regulars,” who not only help you out on the questions – but also help bring the funny. The “funny” can come in many forms – cracking jokes, making lewd comments, making commentary on questions that are asked, snickering at funny words mentioned during the game. Even though I went out playing solo Tuesday at Johnny’s on the Lake with Sporcle Live Host Elyse (not even sure I tagged the right place…), for a moment – I felt like I had one of my teammates there! Do not read past this point if you are offended by vulgar language, even if cleverly veiled…(elevator music plays). You’re still reading? Good! After the game, I was talking to a couple of players on More Beer Less Pants, telling them: “I blew an eight and a six in game two.” To which one of them responded, “Those are good ones to blow.” Bam…I almost felt like Brad had said that instead of this guy (who will remain anonymous). If I had a time machine I would have responded, “So what makes you an expert on good ones to blow?” But alas, it would be a waste of a time machine, I know, I know. Still a funny moment, and I appreciated the levity! I did fairly well in game one, tying with MBLP heading into the final, which couldn’t have been MORE out of my “wheelhouse.” Game two really “sucked” (go ahead and snicker), missed some big pointers, though managed to finish third by getting the second final correct. And the questions…
Game One
1. U.S. History – What was the name of the research and development program led by the U.S. that produced the first atomic bombs during World War 2? 10
2. Desserts – The name of what coffee-flavored Italian dessert translates into “pick me up?” 4
3. Rocky – How many films in the Rocky film series have Roman numerals in their titles? 3
4. Cocktails – What is the primary alcohol in a hurricane? 9
5. Video Games – Released in Nov. 2016, ‘Infinite Warfare” is the most recent installment in what first-person shooter video game series? Miss for 1.
6. Diseases – Mad Hatter disease got its name because of exposure of hat makers to what chemical element? 8
7. Opening Lyrics – What four words are the first lyrics in Three Dog Night’s “Joy to the World?” 7
8. MLB Siblings- What was the last name of brothers Phil and Joe who each pitched in more than 20 seasons in the MLB from the ’60s to the ’80s? Nope, miss for 2.
9. Tyler Perry – What 2004 play inspired a TV series that ran from 2009-2011 and a 2008 movie featuring Tyler Perry? 5
10. Canada – Which Canadian province borders four of the five Great Lakes? For an extra “nerd” point, which U.S. state is the easternmost to touch a Great Lake? Got both for 6 plus the bonus.
Mystery – Anagrams – Identify the 2016 high-grossing film based on the following anagrams (spoiler – this one was a killer – clearly I need to review recent high grossing films!)
1. Did No Frying
2. Pale Dodo
3. These Coffee Triplets
4 Strong Red Coat
Normally Mike is very good at these “anagram” rounds, and certainly would have helped here. I thunk…and thunk…and thunk…and thunk…came up with #3 at the last second, and thankfully I just saw #4 kind of recently, so that one “came” easily. When I found out what #1 and #2 were? Facepalm…the horror!
Scores: Four teams, scores 51 to 60, with me (playing as “I’ve Got a Bad Feeling About This”) tied with MBLP in the top spot. Never you fear, the final question will take the wind out of my sails!
Final Category: Different Groups, Same Nickname
What nickname was shared by a group of conservative Supreme Court Justices in the 1930s, a group of football players in the 1920s, and a group of pro wrestlers in the 1980s and 90s?
None of these categories spoke to me, having a teammate or two would have probably helped here…wagered 20 and missed.
Nobody used their “real” names, but MBLP finished first, and I “think” Slick Rock finished second.
Game Two
1. State Mottoes – (and enter a weird coincidence – shortly before heading out to this game, I posted a list of “just for fun” state mottoes my husband and I made up on a recent road trip – and lo and behold, we get a mottoes question in a game later. Weird…) – Other than English, what is the most common language for official state mottoes? 5
2. TV Openings – What type of fruit was seen at the beginning of the opening credits for “Desperate Housewives?” And for an extra “nerd” bonus, within one, how many seasons did this series air? Amazingly, I got both parts of these correct, and I’ve never seen a single episode of this show! Got this for 2, plus the bonus.
3. Software – What music software was released by Apple in January, 2001? 10
4. NASSA – (Host Elyse said she thinks that word should have a double S, so there you have it – what does the extra “s” stand for? I vote for squid. National Aeronautic Space Squid Administration. And so shall it be…ahem) – Which U.S. president established NASSA? Miss for 4.
5. Comedians – Audio clue of raspy voiced acerbic comic, got it.
6. Telling Time – What company makes the “Iron Man” brand digital wristwatch? 1
7. Bones – Of the hammer, anvil, and stirrup, which one is also called “malleus?” Considered right answer, but picked the wrong one for 6. Heh, I “blew” a question about bones. I can just hear Brad snickering, “You said bone.”
8. Early Roles – One of actor Steve McQueen’s earliest movie roles was a 1958 film about an alien amoeba? Had to think a bit on this one, but got it.
9. Military – After the Medal of Honor and cross, what is the third highest military decoration of valor? Mike would have helped here, miss for EIGHT. And here is the second question I “blew” for BIG, lol.
10. Jazz – Count Basie was best known for playing what instrument: 9
Mystery – http://www.sporcle.com/blog/visual/pasta1129/ Missed 2 and 4. Ouch, these mystery rounds were HARD, they pounded me GOOD! Well played, Sporcle Live…well played!
Scores: Yeah, I was in last place, MBLP in first with 64 (pffft…show offs!).. Yada yada, big surprise! Cough…
Final Category – Animated Voices
Two performers who have lent their voice talents to all three Kung Fu Panda movies have won a competitive Academy Award in an acting category.
Name either of those performers.
I must’ve not heard the word “either,” as I named both of them (thanks Elyse for giving me points even though some hosts would disqualify me for putting more than one).
Standings: I’ve Got a Bad Feeling About This, 62, second place (???), 70, and 74, MBLP (what’s with that strategic wager? hmmm?) Until next time, which will be The Wurst Bar for a My Trivia Live fix with “the team.” As always, Go Pods, and stay classy, The Blob!
Leave a Reply

